How to upgrade S3Media Stream to the latest version 5.6.6

Version 5.6.6 has been tested up to WordPress 3.5.1 and it works fine. In this tutorial, you find how to upgrade between various versions of S3Media Stream.

From 5.6.0 and higher

Lots of changes and additions between 5.6 and 5.6.6, so it is definitely worthwhile to upgrade. Before you install, you need to do 3 things:

  1. Backup your site. Murphy's says: "If you don't do it, things go wrong."
  2. In the S3Media Stream Options: make sure you select: Keep data upon deactivation. This ensures that you do not need to fill in your S3 Amazon details again. If you forget, no harm done, just fill in the account details again after the upgrade
  3. Go to Plugins and deactivate S3Media Stream, then delete it.

No worries, the shortcodes to your media are still in the posts and pages. So you lose nothing.

Now you can install the latest S3Media Stream version. For those of you upgrading from 5.6.0: there is now a default settings section in the S3Media Stream Options, which can be used as site wide default settings, so that you do not need to fill in repetitive attributes anymore.

Any versions older then 5.6.0

You will lose any media your created with the Video Playlist Wizard, so if it is working for you and you use those playlists, do not upgrade.  However, be warned that newer versions of WordPress (from 3.2 onwards) will break your plugin. So you might have to.

We are working on a new type of playlist wizard currently. This will be for S3Media Stream 6.0. Completely written from scratch. All shortcodes will need to be converted to the new format, but we will provide a tool for that. Loads of new features will be added as well as the older code prevented us from adding new features.

Before you install, you need to do 3 things:

  1. Backup your site. Murphy's says: "If you don't do it, things go wrong."
  2. In the S3Media Stream Options: make sure you select: Keep data upon deactivation. This ensures that you do not need to fill in your S3 Amazon details again. If you forget, no harm done, just fill in the account details again after the upgrade
  3. Go to Plugins and deactivate S3Media Stream, then delete it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Updated: February 6, 2013